Singing Homer
Singing Homer Podcast
Homer's Odyssey δ 4.571-92
0:00
-4:02

Homer's Odyssey δ 4.571-92

Recording and translation © A. P. David 2022.

Greek text hyperlinked to lexica via Perseus (perseus.tufts.edu):

αὐτὰρ ἐγὼν ἐπὶ νῆας ἅμ᾽ ἀντιθέοις ἑτάροισιν

ἤια, πολλὰ δέ μοι κραδίη πόρφυρε κιόντι.

αὐτὰρ ἐπεί ῥ᾽ ἐπὶ νῆα κατήλθομεν ἠδὲ θάλασσαν,

δόρπον θ᾽ ὁπλισάμεσθ᾽, ἐπί τ᾽ ἤλυθεν ἀμβροσίη νύξ,

δὴ τότε κοιμήθημεν ἐπὶ ῥηγμῖνι θαλάσσης.

ἦμος δ᾽ ἠριγένεια φάνη ῥοδοδάκτυλος Ἠώς,

νῆας μὲν πάμπρωτον ἐρύσσαμεν εἰς ἅλα δῖαν,

ἐν δ᾽ ἱστοὺς τιθέμεσθα καὶ ἱστία νηυσὶν ἐίσῃς,

ἂν δὲ καὶ αὐτοὶ βάντες ἐπὶ κληῖσι καθῖζον:

ἑξῆς δ᾽ ἑζόμενοι πολιὴν ἅλα τύπτον ἐρετμοῖς.

ἂψ δ᾽ εἰς Αἰγύπτοιο διιπετέος ποταμοῖο

στῆσα νέας, καὶ ἔρεξα τεληέσσας ἑκατόμβας.

αὐτὰρ ἐπεὶ κατέπαυσα θεῶν χόλον αἰὲν ἐόντων,

χεῦ᾽ Ἀγαμέμνονι τύμβον, ἵν᾽ ἄσβεστον κλέος εἴη.

ταῦτα τελευτήσας νεόμην, ἔδοσαν δέ μοι οὖρον

ἀθάνατοι, τοί μ᾽ ὦκα φίλην ἐς πατρίδ᾽ ἔπεμψαν.

ἀλλ᾽ ἄγε νῦν ἐπίμεινον ἐνὶ μεγάροισιν ἐμοῖσιν,

ὄφρα κεν ἑνδεκάτη τε δυωδεκάτη τε γένηται:

καὶ τότε σ᾽ εὖ πέμψω, δώσω δέ τοι ἀγλαὰ δῶρα,

τρεῖς ἵππους καὶ δίφρον ἐύξοον: αὐτὰρ ἔπειτα

δώσω καλὸν ἄλεισον, ἵνα σπένδῃσθα θεοῖσιν

ἀθανάτοις ἐμέθεν μεμνημένος ἤματα πάντα.’

Samuel Butler’s translation with certain names Hellenised:

‘… whereon I turned back to the

ships with my companions, and my heart was clouded with care as I

went along. When we reached the ships we got supper ready, for night

was falling, and camped down upon the beach. When the child of morning,

rosy-fingered Dawn appeared, we drew our ships into the water, and

put our masts and sails within them; then we went on board ourselves,

took our seats on the benches, and smote the grey sea with our oars.

I again stationed my ships in the heaven-fed stream of Egypt, and

offered hecatombs that were full and sufficient. When I had thus appeased

heaven's anger, I raised a barrow to the memory of Agamemnon that

his name might live for ever, after which I had a quick passage home,

for the gods sent me a fair wind.

‘And now for yourself—stay here some ten or twelve days longer, and

I will then speed you on your way. I will make you a noble present

of a chariot and three horses. I will also give you a beautiful chalice

that so long as you live you may think of me whenever you make a drink-offering

to the immortal gods.’

0 Comments
Singing Homer
Singing Homer Podcast
A performance of Homer's Odyssey in ancient Greek, with texts.
Listen on
Substack App
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
A P David
Recent Episodes
0:41
  
1:06
3:04
  
4:58
  
3:39
1:57
  
4:40